Mar 242011








Braavos was a city made for secrets, a city of fogs and masks and whispers. Its very existence has been a secret for a century, the girl had learned; its location had been hidden thrice that long. “The Nine Free Cities are the daughters of Valyria that was,” the kindly man taught her, “but Braavos is the bastard child who ran away from home. We are a mongrel folk, the sons of slaves and whores and thieves. Our forebears came from half a hundred lands to this place of refuge, to escape the dragonlords who had enslaved them. Half a hundred gods came with them, but there is one god all of them share in common.”

“Him of Many Faces.”

“And many names,” the kindly man had said. “In Qohor he is the Black Goat, in yi Ti the Lion of Night, in Westeros the Stranger. All men must bow to him in the end, no matter if they worship the Seven or the Lord of Light, the Moon Mother or the Drowned God or the Great Shepherd. All mankind belongs to him…else somewhere in the world would be a folk who lived forever. Do you know of any folk who live forever?”

“No,” she would answer. “All men must die.”

(George R.R. Martin, ‘A Feast For Crows’ copyright 2005)

There’s a lot of really great music on this collection – please take a few minutes to support these bands by buying their records. I realize that a few of these releases are older and may be difficult to find – send me an email if you need more information about anything you’re hearing. And I would really appreciate it if you would let me know that you’re listening. You can find me here – 6forty on twitter ::  6forty on facebook ::


Hood – They Removed All Trace That Anything Had Ever Happened Here   -00:00-
In Violet – Fair Trade   -05:15-
Hypermagic – Red Lion   -10:05-
Per Mission – Through The Reeds To The Place That You Can See   -14:31-
The Famous Boyfriend – It’s Starting To Become A Habit   -20:05-
Mender – Worried About My Heart   -24:37
The Declining Winter – Where The Severn Rivers Thread  -31:19-
Crescent – Shadow  -35:10-
Worriedaboutsatan – You’re In My Thoughts  -40:09-
On Fell – Untitled  -46:36-
Uilab – Impulse Rah!  -50:36-
Tank – Kino Art  -54:22-
The Famous Boyfriend – The Noises Inside Craigs Head   -61:45-
God Is an Astronaut – Forever Lost   -63:58-

640.035 playlist.pdf

 Posted by at 10:07 am