Jan 012022

6forty’s primary goal is to be a comprehensive on-line resource for independent music, encouraging people to explore (and buy!) the releases that they read about on the site, or hear on a 6forty mix-tape, or on 6forty radio. So when it comes to selecting favorites from 2021, I’ll leave that decision up to you. Listed below are the records that have been on heaviest rotation at 6forty HQ throughout the year (release date order). Follow the links, press play, click buy, and most importantly, spread the word about the music that you love, and encourage others to do the same. Even if you can’t afford to buy the releases, a simple social media post to your friends would be an invaluable benefit to the bands. Thanks! Please stay safe and well. Happy new year! – Michael

‘Gran Telescopio’ by Mekong Airlines (Germany) released January 1, 2021
‘jól’ by powder! go away (Russia) released January 7, 2021
‘MARTIAL HEARTS’ by SPOIWO (Poland) released January 30, 2021
‘Recordings of Weird Air’ by The Declining Winter (UK) released January 30, 2021
‘As The Love Continues’ by Mogwai (Scotland) released February 19, 2021
‘gravity’ by felperc (Austria) released February 21, 2021
‘Topik’ by KRANE (Switzerland) released February 25, 2021
‘Centre’ by Mt. Mountain (Australia) released February 26, 2021
‘Acceptance’ by Mountainscape (UK) released February 26, 2021
‘Another Second Chance’ by Baulta (Finland) released March 5, 2021
‘The Machine is burning and now everyone knows it could happen again’ by BRUIT ≤ (France) released April 2, 2021
‘G_d’s Pee AT STATE’S END!’ by Godspeed You! Black Emperor (Québec) released April 2, 2021
‘Poèmes fous pour herbes fraîches’ by Notre Dame de la Colline (France) released April 9, 2021
‘Fyra’ by Suffocate for fuck sake (Sweden) released April 16, 2021
‘Cendres ~ Mineral’ by Böira (Spain) released April 23, 2021
‘Shadow Falls’ by The Paper Sea (United States) released May 21, 2021
‘Frontera’ by Fly Pan Am (Québec) released May 21, 2021
‘All is Beautiful. I’m Okay to be Alive. I’m Okay to Die.’ by Hurry Up, Brothers (United States) released May 28, 2021
‘chercher le trouble’ by Sauf les drones (Québec) released May 28, 2021
‘Giant Sky’ by Giant Sky (Norway) released June 4, 2021
‘SSS2: Carpe Anima’ by She Sees (Sweden) released June 10, 2021
‘Sundowning/Unconditional’ by Outlander (UK) released June 25, 2021
‘Inheritance’ by Musk Ox (Ontario) released July 9, 2021
‘HEY WHAT’ by Low (United States) released September 10, 2021
‘The Hidden Forest’ by Anoice (Japan) released September 17, 2021
‘Snake Behind The Sun’ by Shy, Low (United States) released October 8, 2021
‘Piecework’ by Kowloon Walled City (United States) released October 8, 2021
‘Meteora’ by Savage Republic (United States) released October 31, 2021
‘I Still Believe In Us’ by Long Hallways (United States) released November 5, 2021
‘The Hood Tapes (bonus tracks)’ by Hood (UK) released November 5, 2021
‘Monument’ by Portico Quartet (UK) released November 12, 2021
‘Everything’ by Blankenberge (Russia) released November 14, 2021
‘Visions’ by soup (Norway) released November 19, 2021
‘GODS’ by SaaR (France) released November 19, 2021
‘No Feeling is Final’ by Maybeshewill (UK) released November 19, 2021
‘Sore Memories Always End’ by CECILIA::EYES (Belgium) released December 3, 2021
‘For What May I Hope? For What Must We Hope?’ by There’s A Light (Germany) released December 10, 2021

<6forty social>
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/6fortyproject
instagram: https://www.instagram.com/6fortyproject
radio: http://www.6fortyradio.com
web: http://www.6forty.com
twitter: https://twitter.com/6fortyproject
youtube: https://www.youtube.com/6fortyproject
email: mike@6forty.com

 Posted by at 11:25 am

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.